News & Events

Faculty use innovative ways to share congratulations

On commencement day, faculty surprise psych/mental health NP graduates

Faculty delivered congratulations to graduates’ doorsteps

May 19, 2020

As Katelyn Day prepared for her visit with a diabetic patient with concerns about a foot ulcer, she reviewed his discharge papers from a recent hospital visit and best practices for wound care for non-healing foot ulcers. She also had to check her computer’s settings and Zoom configuration to ensure she could see and hear the patient.
Assistant Professor Melissa Horning, PhD, RN, PHN, earned a High-Impact Award from the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior for writing one of the publication’s most-cited articles of 2017.
Doctor of Nursing Practice students Deborah St. Anthony, MEd, BSN, RN, and Hannah Shibeshi, BAN, RN, CNRN, CCRN, and PhD student Meghan Hultman, MSN, RN, were the inaugural recipients of the Graduate Nursing Student Academy (GSNA) Excellence in PhD-DNP Collaboration Award.
The University of Minnesota rose to 10th in the latest ranking of National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding to schools of nursing. With nearly $6 million in NIH awards to the School of Nursing and Earl E. Bakken Center for Spirituality & Healing in 2019, the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research (BRIMR) placed the University of Minnesota tops among Big Ten institutions and fourth among all public universities.
New research shows no correlation between the Super Bowl and increases in sex trafficking. The research analyzed empirical evidence regarding major sporting events and trafficking for sexual exploitation.
Minnesota’s first estimate of youth sexual exploitation indicates that at least 5,000 high school-age youth in the state have traded sex in order to receive money, food, drugs, alcohol, a place to stay or something else of value.


Minnesota Nursing Magazine

University of Minnesota's School of Nursing publishes a biannual magazine with all of the latest news from the school. Available in print and digital versions, it's easy to stay up to date.

Read the latest issue

Thursday, June 4, 2020
9:00am to 12:00pm
Monday, July 27, 2020
8:30am to 12:00pm
Thursday, August 6, 2020
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 17, 2020
9:00am to 12:00pm
Friday, December 18, 2020