Minnesota Nursing magazine

Class notes

Phebe Gordon, DNP ’16, joined the pediatrics department at the Essentia Health St. Mary’s-Detroit Lakes Clinic.

Bonnie Lee Brueshoff, DNP ’13, MS ’89, was honored by the American Public Health Association Maternal and Child Health Section with the Effective Practice Award for her work to create the Breastfeeding Friendly Health Departments initiative and toolkit. Additionally, the National Association of County and City Health Officials Model Practices Program selected the initiative as a Model Practice. Brueshoff is the director of Dakota County Public Health.

Exhilda Siame, MS ’12, is the founder/CEO of Umulyango Consultants. She is collaborating with emerging health care markets in Africa to set up long term care systems that will support aging.

Lisa Martin, PhD ’11, MS ’98, is the 2018 chair of the National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association. Misty Wilke, PhD ’09, is the outgoing chair.

Kuei-Min Chen, PhD ’00, MS ’96, is the recipient of the Sigma Theta Tau 2017 Amy J. Berman Geriatric Nursing Leadership Award. She is on the faculty at Kaohsiung University in Taiwan.

Sharon Lehmann, MSN ’96, was named to the editorial board for the Journal of Radiology Nursing. She works in interventional radiology at University of Minnesota Health and is a past president of the Association for Radiologic and Imaging Nursing. She served as the newsletter editor for six years.

Kathryn (Kate) Siegrist, BSN ’78, has been named chief nursing officer with the national Nurse-Family Partnership, a community health program for low-income, first-time mothers based in Denver, Colorado.

Mary Steen Hartwig, BSN ’65, received the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Nursing 2017 Outstanding Alumnus award.

Have you recently received a promotion, been hired for a new position or been honored with a special award? Let us know by going to www.nursing.umn.edu/alumni.