Minnesota Nursing magazine

Class Notes

Caroline Bunker Rosdahl, MA ’68, BSN ’60, was included in the International Nurses Association’s publication Worldwide Leaders in Healthcare. She is the author of the Textbook of Basic Nursing, now in its 11th (50th Anniversary) edition.

Marie Manthey, PhD (hon.) ’99, MNA ’62, BSNA ’62, FAAN, FRCN, was awarded the 2016 American Journal of Nursing’s Book of the Year Award in Nursing under the category of Nursing Management and Leadership. The book, Primary Nursing: Person-Centered Care Delivery System Design, by Susan Wessel and Manthey, describes a model of care delivery that provides the highest possible level of person centered care for patients.

Marsha Lewis, PhD ’92, MS ’77, professor and dean of the University at Buffalo School of Nursing, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh College of Nursing, where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree.

Eileen Kern, BSN ’95, supervisor of health services for Bloomington School District, was named the 2016 School Nurse Administrator of the Year by the School Nurse Organization of Minnesota. Employed at Bloomington Public Schools for 11 years, she supervises team of 35 health associates and licensed school nurses. Within the district, she has been a leader in technology. She is currently piloting an iPad application for PCA care plan documentation.

Edward S. Thompson, PhD ’97, received the 37th Annual Helen Lamb Outstanding Educator Award during the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Annual Congress. The award, established in 1980, is presented to a CRNA who has made a significant contribution to the education of nurse anesthetists.

Roxanne Struthers, PhD ’99, former School of Nursing faculty who died in 2005, will be recognized by the National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association for her contributions to nursing at its conference in June in Minneapolis.

Misty Wilkie-Condiff, PhD ’09, is serving as president of the National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association. She is an assistant professor at Bemidji State University.

Jon Wohlhuter, MS ’10, was elected incoming president of the Minnesota Association of Nurse Anesthetists.

Anjali Madeira, MN ’14, was named a National Health Service Corps Scholar. Madeira is enrolled in the Doctor of Nursing Practice program. She received a $90,000 scholarship and will serve one to two years at an NHSC-approved site in a high-need urban, rural or frontier community after graduating.

Tony Narr, DNP ’15, is serving as the chair of the Policy and Advocacy Committee of the Minnesota Organization of Leaders in Nursing.

Have you recently received a promotion, been hired for a new position or been honored with a special award? Let us know by going to www.nursing.umn.edu/alumni.