Awards and Recognitions


Assistant Professor Robin Austin, PhD, DNP, DC, RN-BC, received the Dissertation Award from the Health Systems, Policy, and Informatics Research Interest Group Midwest Nursing Research Society.


Bliss Professor Donna Bliss, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA, was appointed to the Steering Committee of a project of the Cochrane Incontinence Group and Evidence Synthesis Group at Newcastle University focused on priority setting for faecal incontinence.

Darst & Flaten

Clinical Associate Professor Elaine Darst, PhD, APRN, PMHCNS-BC, LCPC, and Clinical Associate Professor Carol Flaten, DNP, RN, PHN, were awarded second place in the Education/Teaching Category at the International Society of Psychiatric Mental Health Nurses for their poster Integrating LGBTQ Content into a BSN Curriculum.

Hadidi Associate Professor Niloufar Hadidi, PhD, APRN, CNS-BC, FANA, was selected as a Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing from the National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence (NHCGNE) Recognition Program. 
Friedrich Clinical Professor Cheri Friedrich, DNP, APRN, CNP, was named co-director of the University of Minnesota health sciences interprofessional education and clinical training.
Fulkerson Professor Jayne Fulkerson, PhD, received the Mentor of the Year award from Clinical and Translational Science Institute.

Associate Professor Casey Hooke, PhD, APRN, PCNS, CPON, FAAN, was awarded the Dr. Nancy E. Kline Mentoring Award and the Distinguished Researcher Award by the Association of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nurses.

Horning Assistant Professor Melissa Horning, PhD, RN, PHN, received the High-Impact Award from the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior. In addition, she was named a Women in Business honoree for her professional achievements and contributions to the Twin Cities community by Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal.

Professor Wendy Looman, PhD, APRN, CPNP-PC, received the Distinguished Abstract award by Midwest Nursing Research Society for Measurement of Adolescent Quality of Life as a Dynamic Construct: Novel Methods and Associations with Wellbeing.

McMorris Associate Professor Barbara McMorris, PhD, receive the Excellence in Postdoctoral Advising Award from the Graduate School.

Assistant Professor Carrie Neerland, PhD, APRN, CNM, FACNM, received the American College of Nurse-Midwives Excellence in Teaching Award, awarded at the ACNM Annual Meeting.


Clinical Professor Teddie Potter, PhD, RN, FAAN, received the Women’s Health Leadership TRUST Collaborations and Partnerships award.

Jayne Fulkerson Professor Jayne Fulkerson was awarded a Cora Meidl Siehl Endowed Chair in Nursing Research
diane-treat-jacobson Professor Diane Treat-Jacobson was awarded a Cora Meidl Siehl Endowed Chair in Nursing Research
Fang Yu Professor Fang Yu was awarded a Long-Term Care Professorship
GRAUC Award The School of Nursing received a Greater Rochester Advocates for Universities and Colleges  (GRAUC) Education Innovator Champion Award in June 2018. Presented by Don Supallla, Executive Director, GRAUC Board.
Carol Flatten
Clinical Associate Professor Carol Flaten received the C. Eugene Allen Award for Innovative International InitiativesGlobal Programs and Strategy Alliance
Chris Mueller Professor Chris Mueller was presented the C. Eugene Allen Award for Innovative International Initiatives Global Programs and Strategy Alliance
Ann Garwick Minneapolis & Saint Paul Magazine presented the Award for Outstanding Nurse Researcher to Professor Ann Garwick
Barb Peterson Clinical Assistant Professor Barb Peterson received the 2018 International Society of Psychiatric Nurses Education Award. 
Jane Anderson Clinical Assistant Professor Jane Anderson received a Courage Award from the Women's Health Leadership Trust.
Melissa Saftner Clinical Associate Professor Melissa Saftner received an Excellence in Teaching award from the American College of Nurse-Midwives.
Michalowski Assistant Professor Martin Michalowski was awarded senior member status within the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence for 2018.
Avery Professor Melissa Avery's book Freestanding Birth Centers: Innovation, Evidence, Optimal Outcomes won an American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award in the maternal-child health category.


Melissa Saftner Clinical Associate Professor Melissa Saftner, CNM, PhD awarded the American College of Nurse-Midwives Excellence in Teaching Award.
 HEED award School of Nursing was one of only 24 schools who were recognized by a 2017 Health Professions Insight into Diversity Award
 Disch Faculty ad Honorem Joanne Disch received Geraldine "Polly" Bednash Lectureship Award

Professor Kathleen Krichbaum was inducted into the U of M's Academy of Distinguished Teachers. She is one of 9 faculty inducted in 2017. 

AACN The University of Minnesota School of Nursing and Fairview Health System/MHealth received the 2017 AACN Exemplary Academic-Practice Partnership Award from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. 
 Porta Associate Professor Carolyn Porta received the School of Public Health Alumni Innovator Award

Professor Emeritus Linda Bearinger received the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine's Outstanding Achievement Award

Porta Associate Professor Carolyn Porta named Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.
 Hadidi Associate Professor Niloufar Hadidi was awarded the 2017 Excellence in Neuroscience Nursing Education Award by the American Association of Neuroscience Nurses.
Pesut Professor Dan Pesut received the 2017 Gene Tranbarger Award, in recognition of his article Diversity Dynamics: The Experience of Male Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars. The Gene Tranbarger Award recognizes an exceptional article or book about men in nursing or men's health.
 Pfeiffer Clinical Professor Jeanne Pfeiffer received The Sioux Award, which is the highest honor given by the University of North Dakota Alumni Association & Foundation for achievement, service and loyalty.
Professor Melissa Avery Professor Melissa Avery received the annual media award from the American Association of Birth Centers for the book Freestanding Birth Centers: Innovation, Evidence and Optimal Outcomes.
Wyman Professor Jean Wyman was named the Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion 2017 by the National Association for Continence.
 Dianne Willer-Sly Clinical Assistant Professor Dianne Willer-Sly was inducted into the Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners.